Versatile Blogger Award

I’m honored that Sandra Madeira recently nominated me for a Versatile Blogger Award. Sandra, a freelance writer, is the ultimate “Versatile Blogger”: her three blogs, My OpenLeaf JourneyMy Writing Challenge, and Sandra’s Space focus on different aspects of pursuing dreams, creating a meaningful life, and writing. Thanks, Sandra!

Accepting the Versatile Blogger Award requires the following:

1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your post.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass this award along.
4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

Following Rule #2, I’ll reveal seven (hopefully interesting) facts about myself.

1. My husband and I have, in the past eight years, lived on four different continents (we’re now in Germany). I love traveling, but actually moving to all of these different places has not always been easy for me.

2. I love languages and have worked hard to study them in every country where I’ve lived. I’ve forgotten almost all of my Chinese and most of my Spanish, but my German is finally improving again since these days I get to practice all the time.

3. My favorite foods in the places I’ve lived have been: jiaozi (shujiao) in China, salteñas in Bolivia, bread–any kind–in Germany, and morel mushrooms in Michigan.

4. My daughter, now seven months old, was born in Germany, which I thought was pretty cool until someone pointed out that she’d never be able to be President of the United States. Now I’m really worried she’ll want to be.

5. Despite all my traveling, I’m a Michigan girl at heart; I’m proud to be from East Lansing, where we take our ice cream seriously, but my favorite place in the state is without a doubt beautiful Petoskey, where I was lucky to live for three years.

6. I DO point to my hand when explaining where I’m from.

7. I am afraid of flying.

I’m now excited to pass the Versatile Blogger Award on to seven people whose entertaining, well-written blogs convey versatility and talent.

Kate at A Life Like This One writes beautifully about her life as a mom and writer in the Michigan northwoods. Her site also includes links to lovely photos, recipes, and information about Waldorf-style homeschooling.

Will at Bohemian Breakdancer, originally from Ireland, now lives in Poland and writes witty, revealing essays about his travels. He’s also a graphic designer.

Brock Heasley’s blog covers everything from Mad Men to memoir writing to parenting. His writing is honest, engaging, and funny.

Sarah Callender has one of the most unique and enjoyable writing styles I’ve encountered. She’s a fiction writer who also composes a mean essay, most of which somehow manage to make me shriek with laughter and somberly contemplate the meaning of life at the same time.

Beth at Twenty Eight Letters writes poignant, reflective, and image-rich pieces about her travels. She’s also a foodie and avid reader.

Guilie at Quiet Laughter is culturally versatile; she blogs thoughtfully about “blurred cultural boundaries” and about fiction writing.

I encourage you to check out these terrific blogs!

6 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Congrats once again–and with all that traveling, you are afraid of flying? Awful for you! I, too, have enjoyed Sarah Callender’s writing style! Another great post with a lot of useful sharing! (Another German friend of mine here, a U.S. citizen for many years now, makes the BEST breads!)

Leave a Reply

