Turn it off!

National TV Turn-Off Week runs from April 20-26, 2010. I’ve never been very preoccupied with television, but I definitely need to give the computer a rest, so I am going to try my best to participate. The only problem is that since I teach online classes, I have to be on the computer at least once a day to grade assignments and check e-mail. However, I could certainly cut back on the amount of time I spend starting at a flat screen (after all, I lived over half my life without caring a whit about the computer). My plan is to restrict my computer usage to 1.5 hours per night, from 7:30-9 PM. I also will refrain from using the internet and e-mail on my phone. There will be no time for Facebook, Twitter, blogging, or browsing. This should be interesting. I guess I’ll take notes with an actual pencil.

P.S. It’s funny that I learned about the turn-off week from a friend via Facebook. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

